How to set up a new iPhone

How to set up a new iPhone

How to set up a new iPhone

If you’ve been given the good fortune of receiving a brand new iPhone, you’re in for a real treat. There’s a lot to enjoy about the iPhone 13 Pro Max, the inexpensive iPhone SE (2020), and everything in between, from their smooth UI and abundance of applications to their class-leading performance and excellent cameras.

However, if you’re new to the ecosystem or haven’t moved devices in a long, there may be a lot to learn during the first setup process.

Fortunately, we’ve put together this guide to not just getting your new phone up and running, but also transferring settings from your old one. Let’s get this party started.

Back-up your current iPhone | How to set up a new iPhone

First and foremost, make sure your personal information, images, and anything else on your current iPhone is secure (if you have one)

This can be accomplished in one of two ways. You can back up your iPhone using a computer or iCloud, but you’ll need your iPhone’s passcode if you’re using a computer, as you’ll be prompted to “Trust” the computer at several points along the process.

On PC:

You’ll need iTunes if you’re using a PC. Connect your iPhone to your computer, then open iTunes and look for an iPhone symbol at the upper left corner of the display. Click it, then click ‘Summary’, then ‘Back Up Now.’

On Mac:

Backing up on a Mac is no longer dependent on iTunes. After you’ve plugged in your device, go to the Finder sidebar, select your iPhone, and then click ‘General.’ Then choose ‘Back up all of the data on your iPhone to this Mac’ and ‘Back Up Now.’

Backup via iCloud:

Because it can be done from your device, backing up to iCloud is arguably the simplest approach. Open Settings and pick your name, then iCloud, while connected to Wi-Fi.

Make sure the backup box is checked under iCloud Backup, then touch ‘Back Up Now’ to start a current backup. After that, your phone will show the most recent successful backup.

Restore the backup on your new device

Regardless of which technique you used, restoring from a backup is a simple procedure that is included in the first iPhone setup.

The “Hello” screen will appear when you turn on your device for the first time (or after you’ve reset it). In these early steps, make careful to establish up a Wi-Fi connection.

You’ll be able to pick whether to restore from your Mac or PC, or from an iCloud backup, once you’ve reached the “Apps and Data” area.

Simply log in with your Apple ID and choose the backup you want to restore from (if you have more than one, double-check the date, especially if you’re looking for the most recent).

The restore will begin after you’ve chosen a backup. It’s possible that you’ll be forced to upgrade, in which case the device will prompt you to do so. Keep an eye on the progress because you may need to check in with your Apple ID again to restore applications and transactions.

If you’re restoring from a Mac or PC, simply connect your phone to the device from which you previously backed up your old device, then select your phone in iTunes (Windows) or Finder (macOS) and click ‘Restore Backup.’ You’ll have to choose which backup to restore from if there are many backups available.

It may take some time to restore, but it will transfer all of your stuff across in one piece. At the conclusion of the procedure, your device will restart.

Switch from Android to iPhone

It’s easier than ever to go from an Android to an Apple device these days, believe it or not.

That’s because Apple created an app called ‘Move to iOS‘ in Google’s app store, and it does exactly what it says on the tin.

Prepare your old iPhone for resale or regifting 

Do you want to give your old iPhone to a friend or relative, or sell it to get some money?

Apple’s devices have a tendency to keep their worth for a long time, making them ideal for selling once you’ve moved on (especially if they’re in good shape, highlighting the significance of a case).

It’s simple to wipe your smartphone clean, erasing all of your personal data; just be sure to transfer or back up all of your data first (using our guide at the top of this very page).

Go to settings on the iPhone you’re selling/gifting, press your name, and then pick ‘Sign Out.’ You’ll need to enter your Apple ID password before tapping ‘Turn Off.’

This will log your Apple ID out and prevent you from using Find My iPhone to track the device.

Return to the settings menu and choose ‘General,’ ‘Transfer or Reset iPhone,’ and then ‘Erase All Content and Settings.’ Your phone will be reset to factory settings after you enter your passcode.

You may also like...